Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: ICOM IC-7410

Category: Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : ICOM IC-7410
Reviews: 100MSRP: 1,999.00
Description:
Icom's newest mid price range HF/6 meter all mode base radio.
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/hf/7410/default.aspx
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
251004.9
IW5EKI Rating: 2019-11-08
Wonderful radio Time Owned: more than 12 months.
One of the best radio that I own. Trust me I have a lot
KB9FMV Rating: 2019-09-19
BEST RIG I EVER OWNED Time Owned: more than 12 months.
The NB and NR are unbelievably GREAT this rig has the best receiver I have ever owned! Transmit is outstanding ! If you get and opportunity BUY THIS RIG !

----------------------
Earlier 5-star review posted by KB9FMV on 2017-10-25

I have to say after owning this rig for a year now I must say all features are excellent! I have a Yaesu FT 1000 MKV (200 WATT) version and its a good receiver but the 7410 is far better! The noise blanker eliminates almost all noise not like the MKV which leaves a lot to be desired! I also bought a I com 7300 and one review here said it is a different animal and they are so right! It is a good receiver but to my ear the 7410 is far better! The filtering is much better for the receiver! I would highly recommend you get this rig and attach a nice external speaker and you will be SUPRISED!
WU7X Rating: 2019-04-16
A real keeper! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I was looking at the IC7300. Must have been color screen envy or something. But then looked at the specs, and at my experiences using the 7410 and came to my senses. This radio has a wonderful receiver. The NB and NR functions are incredible. And it is built like a tank. Max SSB output appears to be around 84-85 watts. I've never used compression so can't comment about that.

For the past year I have run the radio for 15 sec. 50% FT8 duty cycles for hours at a time. Ant 1 with an AH4 is seamless; one button to push and away you go. Running it with my Acom 1000 20% power output into Ant 2 and my Mosley TA63N gives me a clean 200+ watts output also for hours at a time. It works beautifully with my BY2 and Kent paddles when I'm trying to get a new country. In the past 14 months I've worked enough stations to be able to apply for digital DXCC, digital WAS, WPX, and finish my mixed WAZ. For a contester one might miss not having a second receiver. For a DXer like me this is a near perfect radio. Good form Icom!
KB7AA Rating: 2018-11-13
mike upgrade Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
very happy with my 7410! Have 3 other Icoms slightly older but use all. If you are bent on using the hand mike, suggest you look up ab5n.com. For about 50 bucks, he will upgrade the original cartridge in the mike to really pump the audio. Enjoy!
N9CM Rating: 2018-11-13
Great ICOM Secret! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Did a comparison (on air) receive test between the 7410, 7300 and field. THe 7300 came in last. Now, to be far, may be some NR settings etc., but the 7410 signals jumped out much more so then on the 7300. Icom never really marketed this radio much but the receive performance is near or the same as teh 7600 and 7700 and much cheaper...can't go wrong.

----------------------
Earlier 5-star review posted by N9CM on 2016-06-27

Won't rehash what some have said and just state a couple of my likes. I never had a radio high end or other that had a NB (other than the great one int eh FT-920) or NR function that actually worked, especially, in an ICOM. Knobs are great feel and solid size, and I love the ability to see my ALC, Power Out and Compression all at the same time. The receiver is excellent, on par with teh 7600 and 7700. Also confirmed by Sherwood's receiver test data. For the money, you get a sweet radio, one with a solid feel, great features and a well built unit.
----------------------
Earlier 5-star review posted by N9CM on 2016-01-11

Well, I have had the radio for a while now and this is a follow up.

Overall, not much more can be said that hasn't been said. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT receiving, same as the 7600, 7700 and really plays well.

The NB and NR (oddly enough for an ICOM) actually plays very well and is very effective.

Easy to use, and I really do appreciate seeing my ALC, Power Output and Compression level simultanesouly without having to select from other to the other. Sweet.

The Preamp is a very nice touch some radios omit and I rarely use it except with weak signals on 6 meters.

I really like this radio. Like the TS-590, I feel it is under-appreciated and undervalued.
W5DVG Rating: 2018-08-13
Really great transceiver Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
Finally purchased a base (full size) rig for the shack. (Been running Yaesu mobile rigs along with my Drake TR-4C and HK SB-104A). The rig I purchased is a used like brand new IC-7410. All I can say is WOW! Excellent receiver and great audio signal reports.Use a Heil PR-781. Love the NB/NR feature. So....I purchased another IC-7410 like new as a backup. The IC-7410's are fantastic rigs for around $700 to $900.
KK4CUL Rating: 2018-08-09
My Second One It's So Great! Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I ended up having to sell my first IC-7410 and regretted it for a couple years. After owning the first one for almost a year, I had used it at least once a day. So when I found one for sale on QRZ for $150 cheaper than the one I sold a year and a half ago, I snagged it up.
Station is modest - Stock HM-36 microphone, IC-7410, LnR EF-Quad 40, 20, 15, & 10m EFHW slightly sloping from ~30 to 20 feet and a 25A Jetstream switching PSU. I also have an 1:1 isolation UnUn right as the coax goes into the shack. The built in ATU can match the antenna 1:1 completely from 60M thru 10M. I get ~110 watt peaks on 20 meters, and at least 100 on the other bands (SSB, RTTY); ~45 watts AM on 20 and slightly lower on the other bands. I receive frequent unsolicited comments on signal clarity and audio quality with MIC gain ~33%, compressor ~40%, TX bandwidth full scale, TX Bass +2 and TX Treble +1. I've owned 3 other Icom HF rigs, two Kenwoods, and a TenTec; none of them received as many comments as this rig.
The receiver is very good on 40 with my antenna. I've worked all over east of the Mississippi, a lot of southern states, the occasional west coast and Canadian stations already since I got this rig a couple months ago. Also a handful of European countries, all barefoot! The DSP Noise Reduction is the best I have ever used. Up to about 40%, it really helps calm down QSB and QRN. For QRM, the 3 adjustable filter widths with passband tuning work wonders to get that station running too much compression and a kilowatt! The autonotch nullifies carriers and tuners in about half a second and the manual notch is great for clipping off someone who is within 2 KHz of you. The DSP Noise Blanker is extremely effection for certain band noises as well as powerline noise. About the only noise it struggles with are Plasma TVs, which makes sense since that's so broadband and dynamic.
Enough with the technical stuff, how about operating? I wanted a full base radio. I've had a TS-830S and loved the build, size, layout, and amount of physical buttons. The menu system is simple: one main one for rarely changed settings, then two rows of function buttons that have small submenus of their own. Simple one button press band changing, direct frequency changing with one button push, and the knobs and buttons are laid out very logically. The built in speaker is mediocre, like almost all modern rigs but an external brings it to life! I use a 6" full range paper woofer. It also just looks great! If you want an easy to use, but extremely functional and customizable base transceiver for $800<>$1000, this is the one for you! Also, unlike the IC-746/Pros, each of the finals are rated for 100 watts and the whole back of the radio is a heat-sink, allowing it to be rated 100W full duty cycle! It is built to last.

----------------------
Earlier 5-star review posted by KK4CUL on 2016-03-01

I've had this for a few months now and have not once regretted my purchase (especially since mine came with both 3&6 kHz roofing filters for under a grand!) I will say, my ONLY complaints are that the ATU isn't as wide range as hoped. Granted, it says only 3:1 and that is about right, but my previous703+ also was 3:1 and could tune my antenna 160-6, where this only does 40-6. I am not knocking a star off for this and is still working within advertised specs. Also, 60 meters is a PITA to access until you program it into memory. Now, onto the good:

Firstly, it is very well laid out. Yes, the screen is monochrome. But it is bright enough for any room / outdoor lighting and the contrast is excellent. I usually run the contrast at 50% / brightness at ~25% and have no problems with visibility. The frequency display is big and clear, and all the functions are easily visible. I love that you can see ALC, SWR, and PO gauges simultaneously. The menu system is logical and all the commonly accessed features are available with the multi-function buttons right below the screen! I have used a bunch of Icom HF rigs: IC-706, IC-7200, and the IC-703+. The menu structure and buttons are logical to me so I never had to pull the manual out.

The buttons are logically laid out also, grouped together appropriately and the ones with short and long press functions make. I love having the Power Adjustment as a larger knob, as well as all the other dual concentric knobs on the left side. The Twin Passband Tuning is a dream to use, just like the one I fell in love with on the 7200. And the IF DSP NR is magical. That is not an exaggeration -- my previous 703+ has a great receiver, but the AF DSP didn't work as well. On a really noisy signal, the highest you could use it was 30-40% before it started degrading speech intelligibility. I live in a very RFI noisy QTH and the 7410's DSP NR squashes most of it. If I come across a really noisy signal, turning the NR up to about 9-10 o'clock and the signal is magically audible! Then, use the twin PBT to knock out any adjacent signals, and even adjust the RF gain or switch on the attenuation and a signal buried in the mud appears out of nowhere. I believe those that say the receiver is every bit as good as the IC-7600 -- the noise floor on this radio is very quiet and has countless ways to dig a signal out of the mud. Speaking of that -- the filters:

For SSB, I run 2.9 kHz on Filter 1, 2.4 kHz on Filter 2, and 1.9 kHz on Filter 3. I typically use the soft filter shape, except for usually on Filter 1 I use the sharp shape. I love that you can save the IF-Shift / Twin PBT settings with the filter. For instance on Filter 3, it is pretty narrow so in standard shape, the audio is kind of harsh and sometimes is no improvement over a wider filter. However, if I move the center of the filter a few hundred Hz down, it makes the audio more pleasing and the signal appear clearer. Then, if you change back to Filter 1, change the frequency, or turn the radio off it saves your Passband Tuning preference with that filter! Now, with the stock (15 kHz) roofing filter I do notice a little more noise on the signals. However, this roofing filter works great for fidelity on the shortwave broadcast stations. Typically, I run the widest 15 kHz one for AM since it has the best fidelity for speech and music. But on noisier parts of the band, the 6 kHz roofing filter in SSB is a great (albeit mild) improvement in intelligibility due to having less noise in the passband. On really crowded or noisy portions of the band, I will run the 3 kHz roofing filter and it makes the noise floor seem quieter. Granted, the differences between even the stock 15 and 3 kHz roofing filters are mild, it does help. I am told that the change is mostly noticeable on CW or digital modes (RTTY, etc.) Granted, my HF rig usage is limited (my prior TS-830s, IC-706, IC-7200, IC-703+, then my friends' FT-857D, FT-450D, FT-817D, FT-897D, FT-950, TS-2000, and an assortment of 10 meter all mode 25 watt mobiles), this receiver is by far the quietest and most selective. The FT-950 was very close selectivity wise, but the noise reduction was not as drastic. The TS-830S had the most pleasing received audio (especially since I had the SP-230 with adjustable Hi/Lo cuts), but the selectivity was not as good.

Other positives -- 1) I love the size and heft of this. It is a full sized base radio. I used to work portable a lot but now am busier in my everyday life. I doubt this will be out /P often, but I WILL use it for Field Day this year! 2) Power out on 40-20 meters into a resonant antenna on CW or RTTY is a solid 125 watts! Granted I never do this in actual usage, but it is nice to know. I have gotten voice peaks on 40, 20, and 15 around 115 watts (the ALC fix has been applied). 6 meters SSB (through a tuner into a non-resonant antenna with about a 1.3:1 SWR was 85 on voice peaks, 95 CW/RTTY). 3) The RX EQ is a great feature. I know the FT-950 has a slightly more advanced EQ (parametric EQ, etc.), but I run mine with no low-pass and bass at -1 on an external speaker; internal speaker I enable the low-pass around 200 Hz to prevent buzzing on my IC-275 that sits atop this radio. The TX bandwidth adjustment is great -- I have not tweaked it extensively, but with the default "Wide" setting, I have received positive comments on my voice even with the hand-mic. Narrow is just typical Icom TX audio: kind of flat and boring, but effective for DX. Never received unsolicited comments in this mode. I would realistically give this radio a 4.8/5, so 5 will have to do!

Possible future upgrades: Icom AH-4 or LDG Z-100Plus ATU for portable ops. The AH-4 is supposed to be an exceptional tuner (both range and durability), that is both fast and great because it can be mounted right at the antenna. I do worry a bit about the 100 watt rating since I can hit 125 on some bands. That's where the Z-100Plus comes in. It has a 125 watt rating and I have had the IT-100 before with my IC-7200, where it worked seamlessly. Currently, I use an MFJ-949E to supplement the ATU for 80 and 60 meters. That being said, a better multiband antenna. Also, I would like to get a good desk microphone like an SM-30. However, both of those are not immediate needs. I do have a few full range 4" speaker drivers I would like to build a small enclosure for and possibly add tone controls.
MM0XXW Rating: 2018-08-07
Simply super! Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
In the UK these radios still command prices (on the second-hand market) of between £900-1200.
However what you get for that is an extremely capable transceiver.
The menu is straight-forward and very easy to set up and the manual is clear and concise.
Tuner is the quickest I think I've ever had and the combo of NB+NR+Notch takes out the majority of the urban hash I get into both my vertical and dipole.
I have no real gripes with this set at all with the possible exception of getting the cIV and the USB to work in tandem which was a bit fiddly.
It's all been said in previous reviews but all-in-all if you're able to get your hands on one you won't be disappointed I can guarantee that!
K6TB Rating: 2018-07-03
Excellent Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I started out in the hobby with a 706MKIIG, then upgraded to a 7410. Somewhere along the line I got a case of the stupids and sold the 7410 and went back to the 706. That lasted all of a month, as I bought another 7410. The filtering, passband tuning, notch, and noise blanker are all fantastic and make life easier when the going gets tough. The receiver on this radio is simply suberb. I have used a friend's 7600 extensively and I feel the 7410 has the better receiver! As others have stated, this radio is built like a tank; all it really is is one big heat-sink. Even after hours of demanding operation like RTTY contests, this bad boy is literally just warming up. The day may come where I get a 7610 or the current flavor of the month, but I will never unload the 7410 again.
W4HM Rating: 2017-12-18
Fantastic Receiver Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I purchased two Icom IC-7410's new before they were discontinued. The rig is very well built, the main knobs and buttons are well laid out, it's called ergonomics. The main knobs and buttons are their on the front panel for easy access, which means no deep menu searching. The menu system itself is pretty simple and understandable.

The receiver is nothing short of amazing. It has excellent characteristics as far as 2 kHz spacing IMD, better than any other Icom rig I've ever owned, which includes a IC-718, IC-751A, IC-746 Pro, IC-756 Pro/2/3, IC-7300 and even my IC-7600. It's tied with the Kenwood TS-590/SG and very close to the Elecraft K3(S).

On transmit it produces very high quality audio that get's lot's of compliments. I use the Heilk iCM and HM-12 microphones

It's a great rig and it's a real shame that Icom discontinued it's production.

The rig is also great as an SWL'ng receiver with excellent performance on the LF and MF bands.

If I had one criticism it would be the monochrome screen but that's what it comes with!